dangermousie: (SEI: Salman kneel)
[personal profile] dangermousie
Up though ep 9 of Something Happened in Bali.

I have so 'fiction-fallen' for Jae-Min, it's not even funny. In-Wook bores me (fastforward button was invented for his sullen mug and quiet demeanor) and Young-Joo (the fiancee) should be drowned somewhere, but OMG. Jae-Min hits all my fictional buttons. Yup, definitely Loganish. GUUUUUUH. (Soo-Jung is OK but I really wish she'd make up her mind).

The bit where he calls her in the middle of the night (and goes through a lot of trouble to get her number) to tell her he doesn't want to talk to her? LOL. Adorable. Also, girl, I know you are dense, but when he sees that you are both locked in the office building and he brings you back to his office and lets you spread out on the couch and makes you coffee and then sees you have fallen asleep and because he knows you are cold (the heat is turned off for the night, and she had no time to get her coat and now can't get to it), he gives you his coat and spends the night huddled in his chair? Pssssst.....he likes you.

I also loved the bit where she stopped by his house after work to find out info on that guy who owes her money but his mom and fiancee were there and Mom called Soo-Jung human trash and slapped her and Jae-Min just shoved his Mom out of the way and went after Soo-Jung (quite a contrast to In-Wook who pretended not to notice her when he was in company). And the scenes that followed, were awesome. Because she is in so much pain (being called trash is not high on list of fun for anyone) and he is freaking out because she is and because she is crying and he can't stand it, and he tries to apologize and/or drive her home but she won't let him and she finally gets home, hours later, and he is waiting for her there in his car and he tries to apologize but he really doesn't know how and it's another fight and then she goes into her house and he is knocking on the door, saying sorry, and knocking and she won't open up and he just starts hitting his head against the door. HOT.

Oh, and the evil family gets her fired and he freaks (that's why I really love him, he is incapable of concealment) and even confronts his father over it and GUUUUUUH.

He actually is very Loganish in a way, and not just in being an offspring of a rich, abusive family. He really has this huge capacity for caring and love but he really has no idea how to express it due to his upbringing. And also? He can be a total goofball :D

Date: 2007-04-23 05:45 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] meganbmoore.livejournal.com
I get the feeling you're projecting a lot your former VM love onto this show(not that it's a bad thing) because you really make this guy sound rather Logan-ish, and Ha Ji Won's character sounds a teensy like first season V at times(not as much as he sounds Logan-ish)

But yeah, waiting to see how you react to the ending(and if it's a good one, or a "kill them all to kill them all" one.)

Date: 2007-04-23 01:37 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] dangermousie.livejournal.com
Trust me, HJW is nothing like V.She is not anywhere near tough or cynical enough or strong enough.

HJW's character in this one is sort of wishy-washy. She is someone who's never had much, so now when there are things she can have, she is trying to grab at all of them even though (to be fanciful here)if she tries to grab everything, everything will fall through.

I understand what made her that way (she's had a tough life) but her character is never going into my favorite drama heroines list.

Re: Jae-Min being Loganish. He is, a bit. Or at least more so than any other drama character I came across. He is a lot less snarky though, and more entrenched in his ways (well, he is older).

Re: ending. Well, I've spoiled myself as to how it ends, and while I would like HEA, it really makes sense that it ends the way it ends. I can see that ending coming a 100 miles off.

Date: 2007-04-23 05:06 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] meganbmoore.livejournal.com
Heh. You spoiled me for the end, too, I'm just wondering if its a "everyone dies but there was pretty much no other way" ending like "Damo" or if it's one of those "let's kill them all for the angst angst aaaannnnggggsssstttt and forget the logic" endings.

Date: 2007-04-23 11:19 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] dangermousie.livejournal.com
Well, she s very wishy washy and he is much too passionate so I can see him driven to the wall. I reserve the right to change my mind, but for now, yeah, I can see that ending.

Date: 2007-04-23 09:09 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] fivil.livejournal.com
Off-topic & peculiar but I gotta ask..

So I know you as a kid lived in Soviet Russia. Do you happen to recall a series of children's books written by an author called E. Uspenski? About a boy called Fedja who was smart like an adult? With a sardonic talking cat and a talking dog?

They're such a big part of my childhood and I've to find anybody outside Finland who knows about them. :D

Date: 2007-04-23 01:38 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] dangermousie.livejournal.com
No, sorry. Sounds cute though....

Date: 2007-04-23 10:05 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] shinystory.livejournal.com
I watched this on and off, but I kinda disagree with you. I liked the quiet guy.

And I couldn't quite see Jo In-sung, although he was great, as serious, 'cause I kept seeing him in my head in "Non-Stop." (Would love to see him in another light drama-dramedy or comedic role again.:))

Date: 2007-04-23 11:18 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] dangermousie.livejournal.com
I wanna se So Ji Sub in something else (preferably where he doesn't die. Is there such a rarity) but he is just the character type I normally never care for in fiction, in this drama.

I've never seen JIS in anything else but after this, I really want to.

Profile

dangermousie: (Default)
dangermousie

December 2018

S M T W T F S
      1
2 34 5 6 7 8
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031     

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 01:33 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios