Bridal Mask ep 6 - Liveblog and caps
Jun. 14th, 2012 09:00 pm
And down the deep, dark rabbit hole we go!
Umm, drama, I didn't really need to relive Omoni's death - once was enough, thank you! I can't help but blame KS - this is the logical conclusion of placing cause above family (in an inverse to KT who placed family above cause - I confess I find that position more sympathetic). If he spoke up earlier to his family, this could all have been averted (and I am not even talking about confessing to Jr).

Hmm, the helper's beard and mustache makes him look like a musketeer.

KS, stop making me cry :( It's interesting that he tells her he was going to tell KT he was normal so KT could quit working for the Japanese. That's new. But he was going to wait after he finished vengeance? Why on earth? Also, I find it interesting that he isn't just a pure-for-justice hero, a lot of it is for vengeance for his father for him.

How interesting, that moment when KS looks at the mask almost with loathing...because that is what led to this.
Oh God, Kang San's self-loathing awareness that he put his role above everything - breaks my heart. But it was to protect KT in part! OK, how about I just magically teleport the siblings to some tropical island far away from Korea? We can ship in Dan too...

God, Jr and flunkie's delight in the whole 'his Mom is dead, that is going to piss KT off' is making me sick. Also, they are stupid as hell - what do they think he is going to do to them once he finds out? And so is their cold-blooded plan to kill KS so as not to have witnesses. I hate them I hate them I hate them.
Rie is going down on my liking scale because hello - offing innocents to blacken Gaksital's reputation - beyond the pale, girl. Even if I do enjoy her bossing Chief around.

Love that KT is smart enough to realize the murders aren't done by Gaksital. Is he the only one with brains on the police force? No wonder they have such a dismal success rate.

Ugh, psycho, die! Jr is all 'after we killed his Mom and kill his brother, let's see if he is still loyal to the Empire.' Ummm, one word answer - no! He was only loyal for them. But even the most loyal person would still go a little nuts after all this. Jr really has **** for brains - do you really think it's a great idea to unleash someone as deadly, reckless and loose-cannon as KT and make him have nothing to lose and go for your blood?
Dammit, KT, why did you stop KS from offing Jr? If you only knew!


HOLY FUCK OMFG OMF OMFG OMFG KANG TO JUST SHOT KANG SAN UNKNOWING, TO PROTECT JR FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK! It's official - Kang To should never be allowed near firearms ever, with his track record!



I both can't wait and dread to see the moment KT's trademark glib 'Bingo' is going to turn into horror once he finds out who Gaksital is.



Kang San takes off his mask and Kang To's utter breakdown is horrifying. And KS telling him he wanted to keep all the burden to himself (except that resulted KT in being a Japanese flunkie so not the greatest plan) and reaching for KT's face and OMFG HE DIED I AM NOT CRYING I AM NOT FUCK.

























I had to pause for a bit there.
Also, any slim chance of KT emerging out of this alive has now gone down to zero. He's killed his own brother (even if unknowingly) - there is no happy ending for him ever. Also, we all knew KS was toast, but we all thought the Japanese would kill him and KT would go to avenge. But for KT to kill him! He wasn't the healthiest sanity-vise before and now we are heading straight into insanity-ville. And the bitter irony of him doing all this to protect his family only to end up destroying it. Also, it killed me that KS looked at his little brother with so much love, through to the end, even if he was dying because of him. Who knew that little breakfast in ep 4 was the last happy time Lee family was ever going to have?
When KT weeps "Mother" and I realize he doesn't know she is dead - oh God. This is officially the most depressing drama ever.



And then he sees her dead. I wouldn't be surprised if he just snapped and started gibbering.





When he keens over her, I want to die. I am impressed by how Joo Won throws himself into this role - this is the opposite of pretty crying. (Side note - I can see why they initially supposedly offered it to Jang Hyuk. This is more and more Chuno-like in its portrayal of the main character. Though I think it makes sense to have someone younger, i.e., Joo Won because the character is a lot more understandable and sympathetic this way).




Yelling at the corpse of your brother - not a benchmark of sanity.


KT realizes it was Jr (the man he shot KS to protect!) who killed his Mom. Uh-oh.


And now some Koreans burn KT's house down, seemingly not caring about any collateral damage. I hate everyone in this drama except Kang To, Dan, Musketeer Dude, and possibly (but not for long, it seems) Shunji. Also, does that mean KT now has not even a photo or a memento of his family? Oh, God.
KT goes berserk seeing the house, with his mother and brother inside, burning. This is now officially less chirpy than a funeral.






Awww, Shunji cooks, too! Realistically, he is 1000 better match than KT, even discounting KT's recent descent into insanity, but I am sorry, I am still KT/Dan 4evah.

Dan thinks Gaksital is 'young master.' Oh, honey. Not yet, but soon!
KT is at his family's graves - huh? Did they dig the corpses out of the ashes? That must have been gruesome.





It's interesting - by having KS die, and in such a manner, it's a great narrative choice because now KT cannot feel bitter about KS' deception, as he would otherwise (also, during the flashbacks, the line that got me was KS' "I missed you" to KT - because he never could interact with his little brother genuinely when he was pretending to be mentally deficient).
Awww, big chief is worried for KT!
Uh-oh, now Jr (who clearly feels no gratitude to KT for saving his worthless life) is in charge of Gaksital investigation and he's just showed up at the hospital and I am getting a baaaaad feeling about this as far as Dan is concerned.
Ahahahaha, Dan escaped! Hooray!
Dan is hardcore awesome. ILY, Dan!
Fuuuck, she got caught! I hate you, spy girl!

Jeez, this show sure loves its torturing and whipping. TPTB must moonlight in a BDSM club!

Jr is poking Dan in her wound. As if KT needed any more reasons to kill him.
And again, Shunji hurries on his bicycle. This will never be not funny.
KANG TO IS GAKSITAL!!!!!!! And he crashed the police station, which is bugfuck insane and I love it! And is now beating Jr to death with me cheering him on (how fitting that for KT it's not for liberation or great justice but for vengeance and love of family. He always did put that first. It makes his transformation into Gaksital make sense).


I think he just crushed Jr's throat!!!!! With his bare hands!!! Just in time for Shunji to see. The look on KT's face as he realizes one more thread to normalcy is gone forever. Hmm, I think this friendship is over. I bet Shunji is now going to join bad guys because awful though he was, Jr was Shunji's brother.





Yeah, Shunji goes after KT with a sword. I think it's official - they are not besties any more.

Ooooh, preview indicates that Kang To is police officer by day and Gaksital by night? EEEEE!
Loved this ep, even though there was no Dan/KT interaction.
This was an amazong ep, which reemphasized that there is no safety in that world - rebel hero, Japanese flunkie, innocent bystander - they are all fodder for cruel and capricious society and universe. If ep 3 was the nadir for how far KT had fallen, this is the nadir for him emotionally - the fact that he is still functioning is impressive. I think he is utterly broken now (how do you come back in any way from the events in 6? You cannot!), and seeing that he's always been reckless and his impetus for going on, his family, has been taken away, might make him a more effective Gaksital but also drastically reduces his chances of survival. It also looks like the earlier theories of Dan loving KT-as-Gaksital and hating him as himself is going to come true - the preview indicates that he stays in the forces as a cover. I loved that the reason for KT becoming Gaksital is not some improbable political conversion but deeply personal. That rings true for his character. In conclusion - Joo Won owned this episode. He is incredible. His grieving scenes, the way he switches his emotions on a dime, everything. What stuck with me is how utterly childlike KT looks when his shields are taken away.
no subject
Date: 2012-06-15 01:36 am (UTC)I expected a lot from Joowon, having seen the way he always nailed those emotional scenes in his previous 2 dramas. And I am glad he still blew me away in this episode. I cannot imagine some of the other 'pretty boys' crying in this manner. And that part why he said "Omma" , i felt like cradling him like a baby as opposed to the usual thoughts I've associated with the same word.
no subject
Date: 2012-06-15 01:41 am (UTC)6 was INSANE. They pretty much took everything away from KT - no wonder he goes Gaksital, he has nothing to live for except revenge - is family (and even mementos of them) are gone, Koreans hate him, Japanese look on him as second class, girl he loves loathes him, he just killed his only friend's brother so that is over too.
no subject
Date: 2012-06-15 01:48 am (UTC)Spy Girl... die.
I love how smart KT is... knowing quickly that Gaksital didn't kill those men, knowing quickly that Kenji killed his mother. And I love how Mok Dan, master of disguise, just keeps being cool. This isn't the first time she's been caught because of Spy Girl. But she almost got away.
TPTB do seem to keep returning to some... interesting themes.
"Hmm, the helper's beard and mustache makes him look like a musketeer."
LOL he shows up on screen one time and I'm like, "What does D'Artagnan think about all this?"
no subject
Date: 2012-06-15 02:13 am (UTC)He's now lost everything - family, home, friend, and Dan (not that he ever had her). He has nothing left to live for but vengeance and some sort of atonement.
I love that KT is street-smart though he is not learned. And Dan is really cool.
no subject
Date: 2012-06-15 04:06 am (UTC)MD is really his only shot at any kind of happiness. She is literally one of the last true human connections left. And she despises him. Oh god, it's just so so bad.
The thing that gets me about the drama is how cruelly ironic all of it is. The characters all keep making the worst possible decisions and it's blowing up in their faces.
no subject
Date: 2012-06-16 01:57 am (UTC)I hope MD will at least love him as gaksital (that mask is great for make-outs :P) Ironic, though, that the reason she thinks it's her childhood love is because of KS' actions, not KT's.
Yes, these people all try so hard and it all goes to hell twice as fast because of it. If KS told KT, who knows what would have happened, but there would have been no unknowing fratricide (and maybe two knowing brothers would have protected Mom better) and if KT knew his hyung was OK he would have never joined the force. If KT didn't want to provide for his family, they might have been hungry but alive.
no subject
Date: 2012-06-15 11:14 am (UTC)Ugh DNW...but then Joo Won is soooo cute on 1N2Ds and I do enjoy this show *sad face*
no subject
Date: 2012-06-16 01:58 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2012-06-15 11:17 am (UTC)a messy turn of events for Kang To.
all in one blow. that was gruesome really. daaaaaaaaaark in a sense i can't comprehend how to see your family burning in flames. and you're still gathering your senses from the two deaths in the family!
joo won. geesh now im officially sorting you out from the newbies. your acting , oh man i can't describe it. you didnt care how ugly it will look if you wail like that. the long wail. that was organic. i can't watch that again . it's goosebumps!!!!
one thing though..
gaksital is aiming for the kishokai because of his revenge for their father's death.
while their father took the heroic stand of saving the royal family during that time, his sons are working to eradicate the kishokai group because of revenge.
so it may go for gaksital-kangto as well.
i hope though, with the initial revenge, kang-to will gradually shift his aim in taking that mask into a higher level compared to his brother .
he's the bad guy in Joseon eyes after all. i hope he can redeem himself, thru the gaksital mask.
sigh.
i think a need a week to spare myself from this episode. unlike for others when i can't wait to see the next. this takes time to collect myself. LOL
btw, i was happy kenji is dead. i really don't like the character and the actor. i dunno but he's like a second rate Hidaka Shinsuke of Modern Boy XD
no subject
Date: 2012-06-16 02:00 am (UTC)I don't know if I want him to become driven by patriotism - it's out of character but, more importantly, he has no reason to feel good towards Korean populace - the burned his house not caring about innocents (who could have been alive for all they knew) inside and insulted him for years. Someone on soompi put it best when they said he becomes gaksital not for those who despised him but for those who loved him despite it all - his Mom and brother.
Joo Won is AMAZING in this role. I hope he gets heaps of awards!
no subject
Date: 2012-06-15 01:13 pm (UTC)... WHO JUST DIED ON ME!
Excuse me while I drown in the ocean of my own tears.
I had to watch this episode with several breaks. It was so draining. Holy crap, this has become so depressing and screwed up that I'm not sure I can't handle it anymore.
Adding to your thoughts:
- KS looked hotter as Gaksital than KT. Yes, I am biased.
- KT won't last long as Gaksital if he can't keep his mouth shut... he has that high pitched scream that totally identifies him.
- Junior's death was sooo satisfying. And I feel like a bloodthirsty sadic for saying it. But it gives a whole new dimension to "I'll kill you with my bare hands".
- There were a couple of scenes where, for a SECOND, Shinji's hair was less-than-perfect and he looked MUCH better like that. Please ditch the Nice Guy hairstyle.
no subject
Date: 2012-06-16 01:53 am (UTC)If you like the actor for Kang San, he did one of my favorite Asian movies (my first one ever) - Bichunmoo. He's the lead in that one and is a tragic avenging swordsman. Have a trailer for it (ignore the cheesy voiceover):
no subject
Date: 2012-06-16 11:23 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2012-06-15 04:09 pm (UTC)I'm feel like I'm a bad person :(( or maybe JW's acting didn't get me......
no subject
Date: 2012-06-16 01:47 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2012-06-15 04:40 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2012-06-16 01:47 am (UTC)I think Shunji might join the police force - he is his father's only remaining son, and while Daddy was fine having play teacher when he had dimwit Kenji, now it's a whole other thing.
I confess even with all the stuff in ep 6, I just don't find Shunji that interesting. Maybe once he goes over to the dark side?
I think Dan does her best but she is handicapped by something neither KS nor KT nor Shunji have - a spy in her life. I am pretty sure if someone saves her it will be Shunji, much as I would prefer it to be Kang To, because I am sure KT has no idea she is chained up in the basement.
no subject
Date: 2012-06-16 07:12 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2012-06-16 07:25 pm (UTC)Ultimately, I just don't find him interesting - I am fine with his place in the story, I don't hate him or anything but I am kinda 'ehhhh' about him. If he joins the side of evil though, perhaps they could at least get him a motorcycle? Every time he pedals off in a hurry on that bike, it would undermine his evil status :P
no subject
Date: 2012-06-16 10:51 pm (UTC)LOL at the bicycle. Its really rather comical every time he has to rush off to be a hero to his lady fair, he hops on a bicycle. It kills the tension a bit XD. I hope when he becomes a cop/full blown antagonist they give him something more badass. a motorcycle would be cool!
no subject
Date: 2012-06-17 05:44 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2012-06-15 04:41 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2012-06-16 01:44 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2012-06-15 11:04 pm (UTC)I blame KS somewhat for his mother's death too. Avenging his dead father is more important than protecting his live mother? I do like though that KS, while a hero, is pretty morally ambiguous, just as KT who is a bad guy still has his sympathetic points.
It had occurred to me that KT might be the one to kill KS, but I wasn't sure they would go there; I'm glad though that this drama continues not to pull any punches. And the irony of him unknowingly defending his mother's murderer against his brother...! Actually, as someone said above, there's just so much horrifying irony in this show: Kang To joins the police to provide for his family, which eventually leads him to kill his brother, and Kang San lies to his brother in order to protect him, which leads him to die at his brother's hand.
Kenji's death was really violent. Even though I wanted him to die, I had to look away from the screen. KT has really gone to a dark place (inevitable, after what he's been through). I also like that he became Gaksital purely for personal vengeance, since anything else would be out of character, but now that he has achieved his revenge I wonder what will drive him to continue being Gaksital (or even continue living, for that matter). Probably not patriotism: the Joseon people just burned down his house so I doubt he's feeling particularly friendly towards them at the moment either.
Shunji doesn't know KT was the one who killed his brother, so their dynamic from here on out will be interesting. I'm also wondering how this turn of events will affect Shunji & MD – according to the preview he still wants to be with her, but I can't see how his newfound enmity towards Gaksital won't put a strain in their relationship.
no subject
Date: 2012-06-16 01:43 am (UTC)I never even thought KT would be the one to kill his big brother. I was sure one of the bad guys was going to get him or he was going to die protecting KT. Not this. I agree with Greek tragedy irony of it all - everyone wanted the best possible outcome (well, not Kenji...) and look what happened.
I actually didn't mind the manner of Kenji's death - KT has always been on the violent side (one of the side-effects of his job) and he's unhinged with grief and this is the man who killed his mother, who caused him to kill his brother (and who also tortured him and didn't seem grateful in the least he saved his life).
I've seen people say they want him to transform from revenge-seeking to patriotism but I don't - the Koreans haven't treated him much better than the Japanese and also, for KT, everything is personal and not political. As for what he will live for, I imagine to avenge his father's death, not so much for his father's sake but for his brother's.
Re: Shunji and Dan and KT. I wonder what, with his new mental breakdown state and assumption of Gaksital role (and feeling bad for Shunji) he will just give up on Dan and be OK with Dan/Shunji. Hmmm.
no subject
Date: 2012-06-16 05:06 am (UTC)Imagine the irony, if in the end Dan never found out that KT is the little boy and Gaksital, and end up killing him. Dying as Joseon traitor and no one ever know that he is actually Gaksital.
no subject
Date: 2012-06-16 02:46 pm (UTC)Imagine the irony, if in the end Dan never found out that KT is the little boy and Gaksital, and end up killing him. Dying as Joseon traitor and no one ever know that he is actually Gaksital
That might be narratively brilliant but I don't think I could cope with something so horrifyingly bleak.
no subject
Date: 2012-06-17 01:03 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2012-06-17 01:36 pm (UTC)I doubt Dan would die but KT is toast.