Bridal Mask ep 5 - liveblog and caps
Jun. 13th, 2012 09:39 pm
I don't think I've done a liveblog since City Hunter, and I certainly haven't done one while sick since my Legend days. I did some parts of it with 103.5 fever so hopefully it's not too insane.
We see more of the fight between Kang To and Dan and holy fuck, I love that they really go at it! I mean, when was the last time you had a drama OTP that went for hand-to-hand with intent to kill? Umm, yeah.

Yup...Because it bears repeating.







So, Kang San is pretty much always there watching out for his little bro. Between that and Gaksital duties, the man must get no sleep!




I love that in the taxi, all he was fixating on was that he shot her, not that she tried to kill him.


HOLY FUCK! (I think I will be saying that a lot this ep), the doc at the fancy hospital refuses to treat Dan and Kang To put a gun to the doc's head! I mean, we always knew KT was tapdancing on the edge but it's so cool to see him turn that damn-the-consequences drive and reckless intense streak to protect someone. I mean, it is the same guy who went over to the Japanese in large part for his family.








And then he lies that she needs to be saved to catch Gaksital. Oh, KT, I seriously love you when you...I can't say join the side of angels because you are still out to catch Gaksital and the troup, but when you care so passionately for someone, not something.

Of course, caring is weakness in that world - the head doctor sees and reports that KT seems overly concerned with the girl that got shot and this cannot go anywhere good, can it?





Great, Chief Jr is now fixated on Dan AND has a spy of his own (the greedy girl - but the drama is pretty unflinching that even if you try to be a good flunkie, you will still be mistreated). That cannot be good. The thing is, KT is so bad at concealing his feelings and that is something villains have a great advantage in.
Omo! The scene where she is unconscious and he is all on the verge of tears by her side. OTP!!!!







I think Shunji finally caught on the girl KT was talking about in last ep is Dan. Blah, me no care - you are not fucked up, so I don't have much interest in you.
I know it's the 1930s but I still LOLed when Shunji ran out in a great hurry and...took the bicycle. LOL.
She wakes up and KT is not there. Damn, that would have been interesting!
Thank you, Lord! He came in. And I love how he is so relieved and tender and smiling and she is all BWUZUHWHUT? Heeeeeeee. That IS quite a change. I also love that she doesn't really care why he's like this all of a sudden because she's busy thinking how to escape and save her life etc. She doesn't have the luxury of being curious about KT's moods.




And then, of course, it all degenerates because he IS Kang To, who is trying to catch freedom fighters and she is a freedom fighter's daughter so...And I wanted him to tell her who he was but after she called him all those names, I can see why he doesn't (he was so hopeful when she said he knew who he was only...).
















Oh, Shunji, you think KT knew she was your OTP, and not that he was his own. Hmmmm. That's probably for the best.
So, KT just learned that Dan is the girl his only friend is in love with. He's having a baaaad day. And knowing this drama, about to get worse.



Great, now Girl Assassin wants to get rid of Kang To because she needs to get rid of the Chief and he's the Chief's right-hand man. Though, honey, when you mention an interest in his intestines, surely you mean a bit lower down? At least I do! :) I've seen people pretty divided over the use of first/past loves in this drama, but it's not just a narrative shortcut (a lot of action dramas go that route to save too much romantic set-up), it is very much in keeping with the theme of the drama that our past actions and choices control our future.

So, KT saved her life 5 years ago? The man gets around! Kinda nice to see him less hardened though.




KT: "How can Boon Yi be Esther?" Duh, because you are in a kdrama, boy!








Poor KT, watching Dan be happy with Shunji. Yessssss, shippy suffering has started. I approve! The whole 'he pines for her and she loathes him and occasionally they fight to the death' set-up has my name all over it!









Dude, yelling and reciting penal code provisions she violated is no not the way to a girl's heart. I know you need an outlet for frustration and jealousy, but just go punch a wall somewhere, OK? Because if you keep it up, her back in Shunji's closet is the closest you are going to get to seeing her naked.





Chief Jr figures out Gaksital is KT's older brother and I stop breathing but then he dismisses that idea as insane. Phew...
Oh God, Chief Jr is so brainless, we need a new word for it. Now he thinks Shunji is Gaksital. LOLOLOL. Also, is Shunji adopted or something? Why is he the only non-psycho one in a psycho family?
Oh, Kang San, I love you. He stands there thinking of Chief Jr shooting at KT and is all 'nobody messes with my little brother,' dons the mask and goes after Jr. In the Lee family, family comes before ideology. YESS. Now pls kill him.




Dammit, Shunji, you spoiled my fun of seeing Jr. get offed. Booo!
Gaksital attacks evil bank people and they freak out but I am all 'dammit, guys, you have a car, just run him over!' Clearly they are not the best and brightest, no wonder there is a financial crisis.
Also, we see KS well-dressed, eeee!


Kang To is still brooding about Dan smiling at Shunji. Nooo, I don't want wrinkles in your perfect forehead! Look at it objectively, KT - out of you two, only one tried to kill her. Hint - it wasn't Shunji. On a more serious note, I love that finding his first love and being in love doesn't magically and instantaneously transform KT into a patriot or prince charming - all those years of him being who he is are going to leave quite a mark.




Dan has a gut wound and is still trying to escape. That's hardcore.

She is all 'don't touch me' and he's 'there is glass on the floor, you might get hurt.' Ahhhhh. Bad guys in love = my heaven. Of course then he lies that he's concerned because he needs her to catch Gaksital. I can see why he isn't telling her who he is (it was one thing to be cursed at when he was a stranger, but if she knew who he was and still cursed him, I don't think he could take it) but still! Argh!














And then he picks her up in his arms!!!! EEEE!


And starts putting the cuffs back on but sees a bruise from them on her wrist and doesn't. Knowing this drama, this bit of vulnerability and kindness is going to come back somehow to bite him.





Ahh, the stares of angst and he is peeking at her over his newspaper (which he is reading upside down, LOL). This is seriously the most fucked up couple ever.







OMFG, Lee Mom found out KS is Gaksital! But so did Chief Jr - he changed his mind but before he did, in the mess he accidentally killed Lee Mom, after threatening her (and then is all 'how annoying!'). Ummm, yeah, KT and his brother are going to come down on you like the wrath of God - for the Lee family, blood is thicker than ideology, as I said above. Chief must have a death wish - regardless of who Gaksital is, what does he think KT is going to do when he finds out? Hint - a bullet between the eyes, if Jr. is lucky. Also, Mom's last words were to KS to look after KT. AWWW. There is something in my eye. At least she died knowing her eldest son was not a wreck but a hero.




In the preview, Dan speculates that Gaksital is the young master. Oh, if you only knew!
no subject
Date: 2012-06-14 03:46 am (UTC)Also some of the clothes in this drama is way off period. like I have a thing for mid century fashion so I KNOW my mid century fashion and i can tell you right now hemlines werent that high, nor were skirts/dresses that tight nor were heels that high. and i had this problem in capital scandal too. i mean you can get away a bit more with men's clothes cause men's suits havent changed THAT much. But women's clothes have and its really obvious when they put in something that is like post 1950's into a 30's wardrobe. I mean esp the high heels, high heels didnt really happen until the 70's, that kind of high heel anyway that the femme fatale was wearing. great shoes, sexy shoes, not 30's era shoes. I mean I shop alot for vintage style shoes and clothes (and sometimes i buy the real deal) so its not that hard to find or even to hire someone to reproduce. also a quick google search will show u what 30's era shoes looked like. This just struck me as lazy costuming. Oh lets put in some present day fashion into the period drama NO ONE WILL NOTICE. HA HA. Well I NOTICED. I NOTICED. Anyway also Kang To's hair cut? Not period either. But its a really swag haircut so I'll let it slide hahaha. You know I thought Joo Won was not attractive at first but his face grows on you. I think he's kind of cute now. kind of.
no subject
Date: 2012-06-14 12:30 pm (UTC)Every time KT is around Dan, my glee goes into the stratosphere - he is so utterly and openly smitten and kinda out of control and it's adorable and dysfunctional as heck.
Yeah, he joined the Japanese for his family but the Japanese had/will take his family away anyway. I can see him going rogue, not even out of sense of justice but for vengeance and because he will be so broken by it all.
Re: clothes. Ehh, all dramas do that. Remember Ha Ji Won's tight miniskirts as a NK commando? LOL. American movies do it too, especially with hair - no matter what time period the movie is set in, the hair always ends up looking like a modern variation.
no subject
Date: 2012-06-14 04:52 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2012-06-14 12:33 pm (UTC)I agree - despite all his physical toughness, I think KT is incredibly emotionally fragile, and there is no way he will reveal who he is now.
no subject
Date: 2012-06-14 11:13 am (UTC)I was really shocked that the mother died. I had thought KS would be the first to die. And I had hoped that mom would live to see KT redeemed, and also meet Boon-yi again. But KT is really going to lose his whole family all at once. I'm a little scared to see his reaction – the emotions in this drama are so intense it's painful to watch. He's probably going to go crazy. After this, I suspect his becoming Gaksital will be as much a suicide mission as a quest for revenge, because KT has done everything for his family, and once they're gone, he won't have anything to live for.
The other sad thing is that this probably means the end of KT & Shunji's friendship. Shunji's brother has killed KT's mother, and therefore will almost certainly end up being killed by either KT or KS. After they and their family members have killed each other, their friendship will be pretty much unsalvageable.
On a (slightly) less depressing note, I loved the shippy scenes in this episode! I can't wait till KT becomes Gaksital so that we can get mutually shippy scenes. I've long expected that MD would think Gaksital is the young master, so she will probably bring it up the next time she meets Gaksital (at which point it will indeed be KT), and he will admit it as it's the only way he'll be able to spend time with her without her hating him.
Ah, I love this drama so much! I'm dying for episode 6.
no subject
Date: 2012-06-14 12:36 pm (UTC)Yes, I agree, the friendship is over - as it usually is when vendetta enters the equation. A pity, as he is KT's only friend (and possibly vice-versa).
The shippy stuff is A-D-O-R-A-B-L-E. Kang To is like a kid around her, a deadly, screwed up little kid :) And I like your theory that he will admit he is her childhood love when he is gaksital - it's significant she's never heard gaksital's voice when it was KS so she won't notice the difference.
I agree with you are KT's reasons for donning the mask - I don't think it really will be patriotism, for KT personal always comes before political - it will be vengeance and a sort of suicidal impulse.
no subject
Date: 2012-06-14 11:43 am (UTC)Moving very swiftly toward a very dark place.
no subject
Date: 2012-06-14 12:26 pm (UTC)Yeah, KT is going to go off the rails utterly now.
no subject
Date: 2012-06-14 12:44 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2012-06-14 12:47 pm (UTC)