dangermousie: (Default)
[personal profile] dangermousie
My first season DVDs got here and, as I was too brain-dead to watch Farscape, I instead (re)watched the pilot of First Wave - the late-nineties show about alien invasion - the protagonist is one of their experiments in human endurance - only he doesn't break, he takes the fight to them.



I have not seen this in over a decade and was very entertained to see how very nineties it was - the clothes, the filming style, the hair. Also, they pretend it's in Chicago, but it's clearly Canada and some of the extras don't quite manage to hide their Canadian accents.

It's not really a masterpiece or terribly deep or anything similar, but it's good pulpy fun (especially, if like me, you are fond of paranoia/hunted-type scenarios). Plus, the hero is a redhead and there are too few of us in protagonist roles. Redhead power!!!

Have a MV!



In conclusion, I told Mr. Mousie that if he ever comes home babbling of aliens and hallucinations, I am not going to be disbelieving but immediately agree to go on the run, pausing only for my de rigeur leather pants.

Date: 2012-02-03 06:06 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jeslina.livejournal.com
Wow, I remember watching this religiously as a teenager because the hero is super-cute. But now I barely remember anything about the show except the sidekick was annoying, and the Nostradamus stuff even more annoying. Obviously I was watching for all the wrong reasons, heh.
Edited Date: 2012-02-03 07:41 am (UTC)

Date: 2012-02-03 12:59 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] dangermousie.livejournal.com
Heee. If those are wrong reasons, I don't want to be right! I watched it for hero's tortured hotness, creepy alien invasion theme, and the cool chick in leather whose name escapes me. But OMG, was the sidekick annoying! I kept hoping someone would off him.

Date: 2012-02-03 08:55 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] timescout.livejournal.com
I don't think this ever made it to these shores. But then, a lot of this type of shows went to cable and we didn't have cable.
Edited Date: 2012-02-03 08:56 am (UTC)

Date: 2012-02-03 12:57 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] dangermousie.livejournal.com
Here, back then, we had the scifi channel and it had it running along with many other scifi shows - ahhh, the good old days. Now scifi changed its name to syfy and mainly shows wrestling.

Profile

dangermousie: (Default)
dangermousie

December 2018

S M T W T F S
      1
2 34 5 6 7 8
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031     

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 23rd, 2026 05:40 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios